Reviews



first Time Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation. Superb care and attention to detail. Very personal service. Everything you don't get from the big chains. definitely will stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Andrew L | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and very good breakfast.

Reviewer:| Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 1 night to attend the races. The owner telephoned the morning of our stay to confirm room, time of arrival and breakfast. Lovely and convenient location, room was spacious and clean, with a view of a lovely garden. Hoist was very friendly and breakfast was spot on!! Thank you

Reviewer:Christine A | Mon 28th May 2018 | 3 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly owner and great breakfast.

Reviewer:Matthew S | Fri 2nd Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


Rolands Croft Guest House- Rating 5/5

The room was very clean and bright and warm. The breakfast was outstanding. Peter was very helpful. Both my husband and i would stay here again

Reviewer:Jacqueline L | Fri 17th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


great experience - Rating 5/5

thank you for having us and the great welcome we received, lovely place and great breakfast with a relaxed atmosphere, would recommend to anyone 5 mins from Pontefract race course made it the ideal place for us , plan to return again.

Reviewer:lorraine s | Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


rolands guest house - Rating 3/5

Pleasant stay.i was in a nice big room.. Set in a lovely area.. No wi fi available in the rooms outside the main building.. The breakfast was very nice annd service was good ..reasonably priced..over all a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Kenneth W | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


B&B accomodation - Rating 3/5

I found the proprietor at Rolands Croft to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty and the secluded location, although only about ten minutes by car from the town centre, meant I wasn't bothered by traffic noise.I was offered a smaller room than the one I had expected as it was cooler (30 degrees in the sun today) and although the decorative order was not great in this room I was grateful for the choice.

Reviewer:Graham T | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Full of character - Rating 4/5

I stayed at Roland's Croft for two nights whilst on business in Castleford, we received a warm welcome, had clean and comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast. Great value for Money and worth checking out the stone baked pizzas down the road on the Bradley Arms.

Reviewer:Steve F | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Homely Stay - Rating 5/5

Our short visit to the Pontefract area was made more memorable by our stay at Rolands Croft. I would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house. We will certainly revisit in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Harry P | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Business course in Pontefract- Rating 5/5

Beautiful room in a converted barn. Great location less than 2 miles to the centre of Pontefract and just along from the golf course. Fantastic breakfast and great customer service. Very relaxed and I felt as if I was staying with friends.So impressed I cancelled my room in another hotel to stay there again when I'm back on business next week.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Sat 13th May 2017 | 1 year ago


One night stay to visit friends- Rating 5/5

Very Friendly comfortable room and nice cookedbreakfastDog also made welcomesecond time we have stayed

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer M | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Cordial visit - Rating 4/5

Comfortable stay in unique old barn style room. Clean, warm and spacious room. Comfy bed. Host was genial and friendly with sense of humour. Excellent breakfast served in farmhouse style room.Would go back again.

Response

Hi Robert, Glad you enjoyed your stay at Rolandscroft !many thanks for your company!Pete,

Reviewer:Robert P | Mon 16th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

I decided to surprise my boyfriend and take him away for the night. When we got to the hotel, the owner was very kind and sweet and showed us to an absolutely beautiful room. The next morning we went to a lovely decorated dining room and was cooked a delicious cooked breakfast with also the choices of cereal, toast, tea, coffee, milk and oj. Overall a perfect night away and we will definitely be returning.

Response

Many Thanks Amy!you are always welcome here!have a nice day!Pete!Rolandscroft!

Reviewer:Amy P | Thu 12th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Rolands Croft, Summer 2016 - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed my stay, Peter was a great host, &the breakfast was just right to set you up for the day. Rooms were comfortable &clean. I intend to stay again later in the summer of 2017 if he can fit me in .

Reviewer:Steve B | Sat 7th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Quiet, nice rooms, delicious breakfast

Response

Hi Christopher!many thanks for your stay and nice enjoyable Review,Catch u next time! and please remember room discounts on future tel bookings.

Reviewer:CHRISTOPHER C | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Pete\'s place. - Rating 4/5

Good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed, the facilities were good, (bathroom enormous).Pete provided an excellent full English breakfast that was hot,(including the plate), better than some hotel chains I have stayed at.Ideally located for us and most welcoming.

Response

Hi Clifford!great to hear you had a nice time at RolandsCroftcatch u next time !!!!

Reviewer:Clifford M | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Very Pleased - Rating 5/5

A very friendly place to stay with comfortable clean rooms and good food.Look forward to coming back in the future.Many thanks

Response

Many thanks David !Glad you enjoyed your stay at RolandsCroft,catch u next time!!!

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Tue 1st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Friendly and welcoming - Rating 4/5

Very warm and friendly receiption from the ownwer on arrival.Room was comfortable and clean.Good breakfast in pleasant dining room.Would definately stay again and have already recommended to others.

Response

Many thanks to you positive review and we also look forward to seeing you again at Rolandscroft!

Reviewer:David W | Sat 8th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Rolands Croft Guest House - Rating 3/5

Rolands Croft was a very convenient place for me to stay. I was visiting my Mom who lives in Vicarage Court Care Home just 10 Minutes walk from Rolands Croft. My room was clean and bright, comfy bed and good TV. Breakfast was lovely, hot and on time. Peter is a pleasant and cheerful guy too.

Reviewer:Maureen M | Fri 7th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Good experience- Rating 4/5

Stayed one night clean comfortable and value for money, we would stay there again if in the area...

Response

Hi thank you for staying and enjoying your stayRolandscroft!

Reviewer:David S | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


A pleasent surprise - Rating 4/5

Nice place, friendly host and really good value.

Response

Thank you for staying nd look forward to your net stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Colin S | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Roland's croft, room was lovely and very comfortable,and had a great breakfast to wake us up the next morning!

Reviewer:Miss. Natalie K | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


short enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Very easy to book. Very welcoming includingto dogs.Pleasant surroundings.Comfortable, and private room.Excellent full English breakfast.

Response

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us at Rolandscroft look forward to seeing you and the dogs again!Pete!

Reviewer:Miss. Margaret W | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and accommodating.Nice room, lovely breakfast and great value.Thank you for looking after me :-)

Reviewer:Amy L | Tue 16th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very enjoyable.- Rating 4/5

My wife and i stayed here on the 6.8.2016. Pete is smashing.Nothing too much trouble.The rooms are clean. Breakfast lovely. Value for money? Most definitely.We will be backThank you.

Reviewer:Mr. LeonCowdell| Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay to attend a relative\'s funeral. - Rating 5/5

Clean,comfortable room ample for the two of us . all mod cons and the breakfast was cooked at the time for us so was hot . personal touch was very good.

Reviewer:Robert B | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

Very nice stay .. Very welcoming and was taken care of . Good breakfast . Thanks

Reviewer:Mary M | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Rolands Croft - Rating 5/5

Travelled as a student. Rooms clean &tidy, the owner is a top bloke who cooks you breakfast every morning for 07:30am. Quiet so was able to get my head in my books with no distractions. Will definitely stay again.Cheers.

Reviewer:Jason L | Sat 2nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Rolandscroft - Rating 4/5

I had a very pleasant stay. the breakfast was spot on &set me up for the day. It was close to all the places I wished to visit, &Peter was a very fine host &I would not hesitate to stay there again when visiting West Yorkshire.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven B | Thu 30th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Bargain - Rating 5/5

Great place, great price, friendly owner

Reviewer:Mr. john m | Fri 24th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely location big room well priced - Rating 5/5

Great rural location snd beautiful farm house-type accommodation. Big room and all very well updated. Host was great enabling me to check in outside of normal times.

Reviewer:Jon D | Sun 12th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Lodging. - Rating 5/5

Featherstone is not easy to get to and it was aa long journey getting there, however the guest house was excellent and the the guy in charge (Pete) is very kind. Had a restful stay and was not disappointed in any way. Highly recommend staying here if you find you need to visit Featherstone.

Reviewer:Rowen De S | Sun 20th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Rolands Croft - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome lovely room and a good breakfast. Felt very comfortable throughout my stay. Will come back and recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Miss. Rose M | Sat 9th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome and good breakfast

Reviewer:Jeffrey T | Sat 28th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Nice / interesting accommodation,private parking, clean,comfortable, good breakfast, friendly proprietor. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Jon G | Thu 26th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

Lovely room with a comfortable bed, room was kept warm all throughout the night and good customer service. Bathroom could have been a little more cared for, but did the job fine.

Reviewer:Hannah I | Thu 12th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Party 7 - Rating 5/5

We arrived as a party of 7. Having viewed the rooms before hand I was very happy to stay here. Yes the rooms are a little quirky but you can't fault Peter for his hospitality and the breakfast was very tasty. Thank you :-)

Reviewer:Miss. Karen L | Wed 11th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Stay at Rolands Croft Guest House - Rating 5/5

The stay was great.The room was very good and the host was fantastic.The breakfast was hot with a good variety.

Reviewer:Joyce G | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable B&B - Rating 4/5

We booked for one night . Peter was very helpful and we appreciated the opportunity to use the fridge. The room was comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Jean-Yves B | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


2 day stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely owner, great room! Peaceful setting and smashing breakfast, we will stay again and recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Georgina B | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


fathers day - Rating 5/5

HOTEL WAS EXCELLANT.ROOM VERY CLEAN.HOSTS VERY POLITE EXCELLANT COMMUNICATION.THE BREAKFAST COOKED EXCELLANT PRESENTED FIRST CLASS.WILL BOOK AGAIN.WHATS EVEN BETTER I TOOK MY LITTLE DOGS.

Reviewer:Denise M | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


TREAT - Rating 5/5

CAME TO THIS HOTEL TO GO HORSE RACING FOR FATHERS DAY AS A SURPRISE.LOVELY BIG CLEAN ROOM.LOOKING ONTO THE GARDEN.LOVELY AND WARM ON THE NIGHT.VERY FRIENDLY HOTEL OWNER.EXCELLANT BREAKFAST.TEN OUT OF TEN.WILL COME AGAIN.

Reviewer:Denise M | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay........ - Rating 5/5

My stay at Rolands Croft was very comfortable.Conveniently nearby the Methodist Church where I attended an event on Sunday evening.Breakfast great

Reviewer:Miss. Mary B | Tue 21st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice place for single female travellers- Rating 4/5

Nice friendly guest house with adequate facilities in a beautiful setting. My only criticism is the lack of space in the shower, have two bruises from bashing my arm when picking up my shampoo.

Reviewer:Denise T | Thu 12th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Feedback - Rating 4/5

I stayed at this guest house for four days. This was a home away from home. The rate is reasonable. The breakfast was great. The courtesy, friendliness and personal attention I received was second to none. I must add that this is particularly an ideal place for those taking trade practical courses in Featherstone.I definitely want to have a repeat of such an experience.

Reviewer:Nhamo C | Sat 31st Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

I came across Roland's Croft whilst looking for a place to stay at short notice. I feel extremely lucky I found this place. After booking I received a call from Peter, the proprietor to confirm our arrival details. We arrived a few hours later to find our rooms clean, tidy, with a warm feeling &lots of character. The bed was extremely comfortable &contributed to a wonderful nights sleep. A full English breakfast was on offer in the morning which was very well presented &very tasty. Beautiful peaceful surroundings, definitely my first choice if I'm in that area again. In a nutshell a most enjoyable stay with the perfect host.

Reviewer:Mr. Scott H | Mon 24th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Family Visit - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed myself,Peter &his staff were always pleasant &included you in the daily routine. The breakfast was a bonus as it set me up for the day visiting family &friends. I would definetly stay again if visiting the Wakefield area again. Very convenient to Pontefract &Wakefield.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve B | Sat 11th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Roland\'s Croft - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Rolands Croft Guest House accommodation was very good as was the breakfast A well kept guest house which I would not hesitate to recommendmany thanks for your friendly service

Reviewer:Mr. Keith I | Mon 6th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Stayed 1 night - Rating 4/5

Stayed in the room downstairs had 2 double beds and a large on suite. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was excellent. Would certainly stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Simon M | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Single Night Booking. - Rating 5/5

A pleasant stay with a warm and welcoming host.

Reviewer:Mr. James W | Sat 28th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


last minute stop - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcoming and very accommodating with a last minute booking. A quiet peaceful setting away from busy roads and delicious breakfast. we will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Jo D | Tue 17th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for the week during my electrical training and couldn't ask for better place to stay. Peter (the owner) was very friendly and welcoming, he also makes a fantastic english breakfast. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, i had no issues whatsoever. I will definetley be staying here again throughout my training, highly recommended

Reviewer:Neil L | Fri 30th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Welcoming - Rating 4/5

Very homely accommodation. Good breakfast will return again...already booked for 4 weeks time

Reviewer:Mr. Liam G | Fri 23rd May 2014 | 4 years ago


Business stay - Rating 4/5

Short stay but very comfortable

Reviewer:Yvonne B | Wed 15th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Rolands Croft - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, Clean and comfortable room, Very good breakfast, good value for money

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin S | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


I'll stay again - Rating 4/5

Very friendly atmosphere with great service and a lovely breakfast. A very quiet and peaceful location.

Reviewer:Darren C | Wed 18th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


better than priemer inn for the price - Rating 5/5

Room clean and tidy plenty of tea and coffee,shower good,owner helpful,and a good night sleep after a long hard day. Will be staying again when working in the area ..)

Reviewer:Mr. Doug C | Sat 6th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

everything spot on , nice friendly place in a top spot , great value for money highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Neil M | Tue 21st May 2013 | 5 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Lakeside
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Squash
  • Wedding Functions
  • City Breaks
  • Country Retreat